top of page
  • Writer's picturekmill069

Sandbox #4: Infographics in Draft


I chose to use Canva to create this draft of an infographic tool. Although the template was very easy to work with, it did require tweaking to fit the data sets I was using.


I dislike creating charts in Canva, as I don't feel that it allows enough customization. Take for instance the "Book Classification" pie chart. I opted to go with grey here, because I couldn't select the colors for each wedge of the pie. When using the available Canva color option in this chart, all of the infographic's harmony was being lost by two of the wedges' hues being more blue-green than the rest of the design. However, other issues in utilizing Canva to create charts can be more detrimental to actual content and not just visual. For instance with large data sets it can be difficult to ensure all segments are labelled clearly.


Another issue I ran into was my save method. I usually save things from Canva as a PDF, but to share on this blog I had to go back and save as a JPEG. So, I think it would be vitally important to know how the completed product is going to be used, to ensure students are instructed to save in the format that will be most relevant to their purposes.


I can see infographics as a great tool for introducing new units or books (themes, characters, etc.) to students, or as projects for students to engage and show mastery of the content.

Miller, K. (2022). FBES collection [infographic]. CC BY-NC-SA.

17 views2 comments

2 Comments


Todd KRAMER
Todd KRAMER
Sep 29, 2022

I saw that Erin saved it as a pdf and then placed it in the blog as a document to download, so that might be an option as well. So, the grey on your wedge/pie chart I think works fine with the colors you have going on. I feel like if it had been in rainbow colors it would have distracted, although maybe hues of green would have worked as well, but if it didn't let you edit it then there isn't a lot you can do.

Like
kmill069
kmill069
Sep 30, 2022
Replying to

Todd,

Thanks for the feedback! I know you can use document download on the main ePortfolio pages, but I at least haven't figured out how to do it within the blog portion. I agree that the grey looks ok, but I would have preferred to use the same three hues of green you see in the boxes under "Average Reading Levels". Here are what the light and dark green color options created so you can see what I meant better.



Like
bottom of page