top of page
  • Writer's picturekmill069

Sandbox #10: Remaining Technologically Current



"For many students, the library might be the only place where they have access to drones, robots and various machines — tools that can spark new interests and, in collaboration with other students, help them develop social–emotional learning skills" (Burroughs, 2022, para. 23). Furthermore, "[t]he reality is that no matter what type of librarianship we practice, technology will play some kind of role. And it’s time we embrace the idea that we all have some degree of a skillset to navigate an increasingly digital workplace and world" (Szmodis, 2021, para. 6).


But remaining current with technology can be difficult, as the tech industry is constantly evolving. It seems just about every time you blink there is a new app or platform that is becoming "the it thing" or the newest gadget you bought is now two series behind the latest model. Compound that with the high demands already on teachers' schedules and a creating an intentional plan to stay up to-date with technology becomes essential.


I have personally found that dedicating a specific time to my goals increases the likelihood that I will achieve them. "[I]t helps to actually block time on your calendar to learn in some form, whether it’s reading an article, going to an event, or trying out a hands-on activity" (Carielli, n.d., as cited in Rayome, 2017, para. 6). With this in mind I am going to commit to reading at least one book on the topic each year as well as having one of my ongoing professional development activities be technology themed or centered.


I also plan to leverage the strength of community and the wisdom of others. Two individuals I think will be helpful to follow on this front are Christopher R. Bugaj, M.A. CCC-SLP and Dr. Jennifer Williams. Both were highlighted in the EdTech article 30 K–12 IT Influencers Worth a Follow in 2020 (Castelo & Brown, 2020). Bugaj, "is an inclusive design facilitator...co-hosts the Talking With Tech podcast...[and, o]n social media, [] shares information and advice about making educational experiences accessible to all students" (Castelo & Brown, 2020). "Williams is a professor at Saint Leo University in Florida, co-founder of TeachSDGs and Take Action Global and the president of ISTE’s Education Leaders Professional Learning Network" (Castelo & Brown, 2020). Bugaj's website highlights on demand presentations that could be a form of professional development and William's website has links to her relevant books (Bugaj, n.d.; Williams, n.d.).


"The library isn’t four walls. It’s a culture of learning, of collaboration, of working together, of the right to knowledge. It’s a culture of inclusivity, accessibility and equity" (Holzweiss, n.d., as cited in Burroughs, 2022, para. 26). In order to best contribute to this community putting in my due diligence to remain technologically current is essential.


References:


Burroughs, A. (2022, July 8). Tech-savvy school librarians provide value to modern learners. EdTech. https://edtechmagazine.com/k12/article/2022/07/tech-savvy-school-librarians-provide-value-modern-learners


Castelo, M., & Brown, M. (2020, September 15). 30 K–12 IT influencers worth a follow in 2020. EdTech. https://edtechmagazine.com/k12/article/2020/09/30-k-12-it-influencers-worth-follow-2020


Rayome, A. D. (2017, September 7). 10 ways that IT pros and developers can keep their tech skills up to date. TechRepublic. https://www.techrepublic.com/article/10-ways-that-it-pros-and-developers-can-keep-their-tech-skills-up-to-date/


Shea, K. (2017, May 30). Ugmonk [Photograph of computer on wood desk]. Unsplash. Retrieved on December 2, 2022 from https://unsplash.com/photos/1SAnrIxw5OY CC Zero.


Szmodis, P. (2021, July 27). How to get over technophobia. Hack Library School. https://hacklibraryschool.com/2021/07/27/how-to-get-over-technophobia/


Williams, J. (n.d.) books + writing. https://www.jenwilliamsedu.com/books--writing.html



31 views12 comments

12 Σχόλια


JULIE HERMONAT
JULIE HERMONAT
08 Δεκ 2022

Kiley, I completely agree that we need to set a goal, but then be intentional in the how and when! I like your idea of not only staying current through blogs, but also reading a book a year! Thanks for some good advice.

Μου αρέσει
kmill069
kmill069
08 Δεκ 2022
Απάντηση σε

Julie,

Glad to hear it was helpful for you!

Μου αρέσει

JESSICA LANE
JESSICA LANE
07 Δεκ 2022

Kiley, I like your point about leveraging the strength and wisdome of the community to stay current. Its great that you have specific people in mind for that aspect of your plan!

Μου αρέσει
kmill069
kmill069
08 Δεκ 2022
Απάντηση σε

Jessica,

The more specific I can be, the more likely I am to follow through with my plans!

Μου αρέσει

Sierra FLEMING
Sierra FLEMING
07 Δεκ 2022

Yes! Your first paragraph about the ever-changing technology market and demands to stay current are so true.

Μου αρέσει
kmill069
kmill069
08 Δεκ 2022
Απάντηση σε

Sierra,

Glad to hear that resonated. Thanks for stopping by!

Μου αρέσει

Carly GRAYBILL
Carly GRAYBILL
06 Δεκ 2022

Hi Kiley,

I love hearing about your goals to stay current with technology! I'm same as you- if I don't dedicate some of my time to my goals at least 2x a week, then they probably won't happen! I love to hear to all ways that you plan to achieve your goal...you are inspiring me! I definitely need to change and work to stay more up to date on this topic!

Thanks for sharing,

Carly Graybill

Μου αρέσει
kmill069
kmill069
08 Δεκ 2022
Απάντηση σε

Hi Carly,

Even once we get a plan that works for us, I have found with the ebbs and flow of life, it still eventually changes and we have to adjust/pivot our plans again too.

Μου αρέσει

ELIZABETH WILSON
ELIZABETH WILSON
05 Δεκ 2022

Hi Kiley! I really enjoyed learning about all of the ways that you plan to stay current with technology. I love your goal of reading one book on technology a year. I wish that was something I could accomplish as well, but I fear I would not stick to something like that with such a large time frame. I give you props for that. I am choosing to read one article a month, so I am always in the loop and have a stricter time frame to keep me motivated and on track. It is extremely important to block time on our calendars to explore and research with technology, so it is cool to see what kind of timing and…

Μου αρέσει
kmill069
kmill069
06 Δεκ 2022
Απάντηση σε

Elizabeth,

Thanks for your through feedback! I feel like an article a month would slip away from me, but I can look over my annual book reading in December and know if I still need to catch up on the technology book for the year. I agree though it is interesting to see the unique approaches everyone has to managing their learning, competing priorities, and schedules! I really do feel like following a few key individuals is one of the easiest ways to stay up-to-date in this regard.

Μου αρέσει
bottom of page