top of page
  • Writer's picturekmill069

Sandbox #9: QR Codes & Layered Reality

For my virtual field trip I explored the Masterpieces of Islamic Art which walked through various pieces like the intricate floral Façades from the Mshatta Palace in Jordan, a coronation mantle from the 12th century that beautifully marries Christian and Muslim culture and artistry, a Cairo citadel and nearby Ottoman influenced mosque, several artifact and architectural sites in India, and an exquisite 14th century prayer niche that was originally from Iran and currently housed in Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.


Although the merging of our physical and digital life experiences is becoming more ubiquitous, there are still intentional ways that educators can utilize "layered reality" intentionally to enhance student learning. Learning and Technology with Frank (2021) discussed bringing the real world to virtual space by creating content using a GoPro Max to take 360 videos (around 11:30). While Frank was explaining how this virtual hike could be created I instantly thought about how that type of virtually augmented experience creates accessibility to participate for those with disability that wouldn't be able to otherwise have that experience. Immersion VR (n.d.) expounded this idea when they said, "[v]irtual reality can improve education by providing students with memorable and immersive experiences that would otherwise not be possible...VR is accessible to every student and can be easily monitored by teachers. Virtual experiences have the power to engage and inspire students in a unique and powerful way" (para. 10-11). In library settings this might look like immersive book reviews where the book "comes to life" on the screen, or QR codes used to link digital content to the physical copies of a book, or QR code flyers and posters linking to book tastings for students who are looking for new material based on past favorites.


When creating my QR code I started out trying www.qrcode-tiger.com. However, when I hit the download PNG button, it wanted me to register for a trial account. To avoid creating an account I tried hitting the back arrow (to maybe get a screen shot of this really cool radial colored QR code it I made), it erased all of my work and wanted me to start over. After that I opted to create via qr-creator.com because the homepage clearly states they do not require accounts to generate the QR codes, which I think will make them inherently more accessible to patrons and students in a library or school setting. There were still lots of customizable options, although less than what qrcode-tiger had, I think it turned out nicely. I also liked the additional functionality of being able to include more than one URL link for a single QR Code which was a feature that I did not see on qrcode-tiger, but was available on qr-creator.


This QR code when scanned opens a link where you can see two of the VR educational resources I cited in this blog post. While creating I liked most of the preset settings qr-creator had selected. However, I did alter the color to a rusty red from black and adjusted the cell style to rounded from plain.



References:

Immersion VR. (n.d.). VR for education. bluewelldigital.


Learning and Technology with Frank. (2021, December 14). Metaverse for education - 5 ways to use virtual reality in school - [video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WogQ0X4ITHM


The Metropolitan Museum of Art. (n.d.). Masterpieces of Islamic Art. Google Arts & Culture. https://artsandculture.google.com/story/bAUBrPy7UXj6JA

10 views2 comments

2 Comments


SHAWNNE MCMILLION-JACKSON
SHAWNNE MCMILLION-JACKSON
Nov 21, 2022

Hi Kiley,


I like how you personalized your QR Code. I tried the QR Creator also. I was surprised that it was easy to make the code. I made an event QR Code. I did feel that it really didn't have a lot of direction on how to create the QR Code unless I missed it on the website. I never thought about creating one until doing the activity and reading the article, 10 ways to use QR Codes in school libraries.

Now that I know how useful they can be, I may consider using one for an exhibit or something similar.

Like
kmill069
kmill069
Nov 21, 2022
Replying to

Shawnne,

Like you I had never made a QR Code before this week. A nice thing on www.qrcode-tiger.com was that there was a short video tutorial and most of the selections were transferable to what I ended up doing on qr-creator.com. As far as exhibits go, I could definitely see applications in a museum archival type setting to have each piece with a QR code that links a narration, or shows similar resources held by other institutions, or even the process of creation or preservation depending on the application or event.

Like
bottom of page