top of page
  • Writer's picturekmill069

Sandbox #3: Images, Licensing, & Copyright


Michael, F. (2020, March 6). Library book window [photograph]. Unsplash. Retrieved on September 22, 2022 from https://unsplash.com/photos/qmlGWIaIgpo. CC Zero.


Michael, F. (2020, March 6). Library book window [photograph]. Unsplash. Retrieved on September 22, 2022 from https://unsplash.com/photos/qmlGWIaIgpo. CC Zero. Modified from original.


I used Pixlr to edit the image I selected from Unsplash. It was similar to using Adobe Photoshop. I was frustrated by using my laptop trackpad instead of a mouse while utilizing the lasso tool to delete the background noise from the “window” the books create. That said, I could have plugged in a mouse to utilize this tool more effectively. I think my experience with Photoshop still makes it the preferred tool, but Pixlr is a nice free option to achieve similar results despite the slight learning curve.


Tuxpi felt too basic for me. Yet, at the same time the add text feature was not intuitive because you couldn’t see the text size and shape until you added it to the image. Perhaps it is an ok tool for those without other art knowledge and advanced tool experience, but I found it disappointing. Pizap had more customization options, but lacked the finesse and detail that I was able to get with Pixlr. I did like some of the optional graphics that Pizap included. I could see those being an easy way to add a relevant holiday theme to an image and engage student interest.


I see Big Huge Lab’s cube feature as a way for librarians to randomize book selection for those students that struggle to decide what to check out each week. Each side of the cube could have a different genre or location in the library to go get a book that will be a surprise of sorts to the student. For example some cube-sides might contain a corresponding picture to the word for fiction, non-fiction, new to the library, picture book, chapter book, or graphic novels. Alternatively, for younger students each cube side might have a mystery, fantasy, biography, poetry, adventure, or fairy tale. The great thing about this idea and tool combination is that each cube is totally customizable to meet patrons needs and interests.


Foldplay’s foldbook would also be an excellent tool in elementary school media centers. Children love to have ownership and to create. Students would be put in small groups and would each create a mini foldbook reinforcing a topic they are learning about. For example, in collaboration with the art teacher, an elementary librarian might center each of the group’s books around parts of artwork like: color, line, shape, texture, or pattern. The final product of foldbook would give examples of the assigned topic for each group (for example: one foldbook would be color), and could be added to the library as a temporary or permanent addition. In this way students would be learning through creating, collaboration, and from enjoying the final product of their peers.


26 views6 comments

6 hozzászólás


Carly GRAYBILL
Carly GRAYBILL
2022. szept. 27.

I love your photos! I also love your idea for a book cube in the library! I think that idea could not only be wonderful with helping a student find a certain book or genre, but it can also help teach them about specific topics. A cube like that could be excellent assessment tool on certain material too and it might feel more low pressure and fun for students!

Kedvelés
kmill069
kmill069
2022. szept. 27.
Válasz címzettje:

Carly,

Thanks! I love your expansion for the cube idea to teach about specific topics or conducting assessments. Learning via play is always a win!

Kedvelés

PAULA THREADGILL
PAULA THREADGILL
2022. szept. 25.

Pixlr was such a great personal find! I'm too cheap for photoshop, so I love this freeware version. I was really excited by it. However, I think most students would struggle with it. I also loved Big Huge Labs. I think there are so many applications for school use there! I like your cube idea.

Kedvelés
kmill069
kmill069
2022. szept. 26.
Válasz címzettje:

Paula,

Yes, Photoshop is not budget friendly and it is always great to find comparable free versions! I think at a high school level it could be integrated okay, but it would be challenging for most below that I feel. The cube was an outgrowth of seeing a pain point while volunteering at the library recently. Students looking for books and unsure of what to choose would stall and ask for "the best book in the library" haha.

Kedvelés

Erin CLEARY-PARR
Erin CLEARY-PARR
2022. szept. 24.

I love your photo selection and modification. I also used Pixlr, nut it looks like I still have more playing around to do. I also thought that making a Fold book would be a great craft for elementary students. I believe that fold books could be a great tool to encourage literacy and storytelling.

Kedvelés
kmill069
kmill069
2022. szept. 25.
Válasz címzettje:

Erin,

Thanks! Tools like these have so many applications that it can be a steep learning curve for those unfamiliar with them for sure. I wholeheartedly agree with your observation about foldbooks encouraging literacy and storytelling, and I think it does it in a way that can invest students along the way. Thanks for stopping by!

Kedvelés
bottom of page